It says cheerful not fearful/ Dice alegre no temerosos

2 Corinthians 9:6-8

Remember this: Whoever sows sparingly will also reap sparingly, and whoever sows generously will also reap generously. Each of you should give what you have decided in your heart to give, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver.  And God is able to bless you abundantly, so that in all things at all times, having all that you need, you will abound in every good work.

As I sat on my bed one evening pouring over this passage and others like it in 2 Corinthians my response was somewhat laughable as well as embarrassing. I begin to tell my heavenly father that he needed to convict people with this passage of scripture to support Dan and I so we can go to Kenya. I have been so filled with worry and fear about not getting the money in time that it practically consumes my thoughts.

This however is utterly silly and absurd which the Lord has graciously been  pointing out to me. As I sat there on my bed in arrogant pomp telling the Savior of my soul that he needed to convict people to give to finance my ministry, he asked me a question that pierced my heart. “My dear child whom I love, who do you support with your money?” I choked as I realized the answer to that question was no one. I even complain about putting money in the offering because I am so afraid that I could possibly need that money for something else (something else meaning yarn and coffee, complete selfishness.)

Reading this Passage in 2 Corinthians was not about other people supporting me. It was to show me my lack of support of others and my sin of worrying that God will not provide for me. It was to show me my lack of trust in the man who died for me and how that fear is stealing my joy in giving.

I have decided to give. I have decided to support my fellow believers in ministry. Not for my self. But because God loves a cheerful giver and because my God is big and he provides for me.

❤ Kate

EN ESPAÑOL

2 Corintios 9:6-8

Recuerden esto: El que siembra escasamente, escasamente cosechará, y el que siembra en abundancia, en ambulancia cosechará. Cada uno debe dar según lo que haya decidido en su corazón, no de mala gana ni por obligación, porque Dios ama al que da con alegría. Y Dios puede hacer que gracia abunde para ustedes, de manera que siempre, en toda circunstancia, tengan todo lo necesario, y toda buena obra abunde en ustedes.

Mientras estaba sentada en mi cama una noche estudiando este pasaje y otros similares en 2 Corintios mi respuesta fue un poco ridículo y vergonzoso. Empiezo a decir a mi padre celestial que tenía que poner convicción a las personas con este pasaje de la Escritura para apoyar Daniel y yo, así para que pudiéramos ir a Kenia. He estado tan llena de preocupación y el miedo de no conseguir el dinero en el tiempo que consume prácticamente mis pensamientos.

Sin embargo, esto es completamente tonto y absurdo que el Señor gentilmente ha venido señalando a mí. Mientras estaba sentada allí en mi cama en pompa arrogante diciendo que el Salvador de mi alma necesitaba convencer a la gente a dar para financiar mi ministerio, me hizo una pregunta que me atravesó el corazón. “Mi querida hija que amo, ¿a quién apoyas tu con su dinero?” Me atraganté a darme cuenta que la respuesta a esa pregunta era nadie. Incluso me quejo de poner dinero en la ofrenda, porque tengo mucho miedo de que yo pudiera necesitar ese dinero para algo más (es decir, algo más de hilados y el café, completamente egoísta).

La lección de este pasaje de 2 Corintios no era acerca de otras personas que me apoyen. Fue para que el Señor me mostrara mi falta de apoyo a la iglesia y los demás. Y mi pecado de preocuparme que Dios no va a proveer para mí. Fue para mostrar mi falta de confianza en el hombre que murió por mí y como el miedo está robando mi alegría en el dar.

He decidido a dar. He decidido a apoyar a mis hermanos en la fe en el ministerio. No para yo misma y mi orgullo de hacer cosas buenas. Pero porque Dios ama al dador alegre y porque mi Dios es grande y él provee para mí.

Katerina

20140403-062613.jpg

Leave a Reply

