Lukewarm coffee/Café tibio

Have you ever had lukewarm coffee? I’m having some right now and I don’t mind. I wonder if Jesus would have cared if he had lukewarm coffee. Kind of silly question and I think about that because whenever the word “lukewarm” comes to mind I think of that passage in Revelation 3:15-17

Harsh right? But God is consistent. Do you ever feel that way? indifferent? I could have put ice and called it “iced coffee” or warmed it up pretty quickly in the microwave, but I chose to just drink it the way it is. not knowing really if I would like it or not, and it’s ok, I didn’t mind.

For something like coffee, truly, it really doesn’t matter how you drink it. It doesn’t even matter if someone else thinks it’s gross or not. I’m going to drink my coffee the way I like it because that’s how I feel.

But when it comes to other things, my choice of picking/doing something in a cold, hot, or lukewarm manner really matters.

That passage that I mentioned above sums it up; “because you are neither hot nor cold, but lukewarm, I going to spit you out of my mouth.” I’m glad for this verse and others like it where God is straight to the point. As a Christian I should be hot, also it’s in my best interested to be hot, I don’t think I’d like to be spit out of God’s mouth. Without him, as the passage goes on to say, I’m poor, wretched, miserable, etc.

I know myself, and I believe I’m not alone to coast in my Christian life. This is very dangerous, the fact that I’m neither truly in danger of something like dying, losing my wife or family or something like that and the fact that I’m neither shinning the light of God because of Jesus Christ though the Holy Spirit in, literary, my everyday life is dangerous. Being lukewarm is dangerous.

To paraphrase the idea C.S. Lewis’ character in The Screwtape Letters Mr. Screwtape, said to his in-training nephew wormwood, “if you have a person believe that they are a Christian by title, while at the same time not having an active relationship with the enemy (God), you wormwood, don’t really need to do any work.” As Christians, I think our “inactive” and coasting-like life is exactly where satan loves to have us.

He doesn’t need to do any work against you to not be in fellowship with the creator and redeemer of the universe because we do that all on our own by not being intentional Christians. By not being constantly “activated” in the spirit, by not remaining hot and taking the time to spend our life in the “microwave” of God; in His word, in prayer, in an intimate relationship. He maintains the coffee hot, which is good. The longer you spend time outside from the source of heat you will quickly turn lukewarm and may even be in danger of turning ice cold all together.

Are you lukewarm? Be careful. Are you a Christian? Remain hot in Christ.
remember what scripture says in Colossians 3:1-3 & 17 do that.

Financial Update
In other news, as of today, we now have 45% of our financial support raised. Praise God! Want to know why? Part in due to our total cost for the mission was dropped haha. Some things where
Changed/reduced in price for our mission trip which made the cost go down just a little.

We still need to raise 55% no amount is too small. If you can give a couple of cents that’s good, if you can give more, that’s great!

Again there’s a link in the menu bar of our page titled “financial support” once there scroll down just a bit, you will find a search bar, click on it and type “Paredes”. Press enter and follow the instructions to give securely. You should receive from out mission’s agency tax deductible information for making a donation to us.

Click this word link for the place to give.

Thank you & God Bless.

EN ESPAÑOL

¿Alguna vez has tomado café tibio? En este momento estoy tomando café así y no me importa. Me pregunto si Jesús le hubiera importado si su café estuviera tibio. Es una pregunta tonta pero lo pensé porque cada vez que la palabra “tibio” viene a la mente Pienso en ese pasaje Apocalipsis 3:15-17

¿Fuerte no es sierto? Pero Dios es consistente. ¿Alguna vez te sientes así? indiferente? Yo podría haber puesto hielo y llamarlo “café con hielo” o calentado rápido en el microondas, pero elegí a beber sólo como estaba, tibio. sin saber realmente si me gustaría o no, y no está mal, no me importó.

Para algo como café, en verdad, realmente no importa cómo uno lo toma. Ni siquiera importa si alguien piensa que es feo o asqueroso. Voy a tomar mi café de la manera que me gusta porque así es como me siento.

Pero cuando se trata de otras cosas, mi opción de elegir o hacer algo de una manera fría, caliente o tibia realmente importan.

Ese pasaje que he mencionado anteriormente resume la idea que importan las decisiones en vida que hacemos; “Porque no eres ni frío ni caliente, sino tibio, te vomitaré de mi boca.” Me alegro por este versículo y otros como este, donde Dios es directo y al punto. Como cristiano yo debería ser caliente, también es en mi mejor interés de mantenerme caliente. No creo que me gustaría ser escupido de la boca de Dios. Sin él, como el pasaje continúa diciendo, yo soy pobre, miserable, desnudo, etc.

Yo me conozco a mí mismo, y creo que no estoy solo cuando deslizo en mi vida cristiana. Esto es muy peligroso, el hecho de que no soy ni verdaderamente en peligro de algo como la muerte, la pérdida de mi esposa o de la familia o algo así y el hecho de que no estoy ni brillando la luz de Dios a través de Jesucristo, por medio del Espíritu Santo en, literario, cada momento de mi vida es peligroso. Ser tibio es peligroso.

Parafraseando la idea del personaje de CS Lewis en Los Screwtape Letters El señor Screwtape, le dice a su sobrino, llamado wormwood, “si usted tiene una persona que se cree un cristiano por título, mientras que al mismo tiempo no tiene una relación activa con el enemigo (Dios), usted sobrino, realmente no tienes que hacer ningún trabajo para desliarlo aparte de El.” Como cristianos, creo que nuestra vida “inactiva” y deslizante, es exactamente donde Satanás le encanta tener a nosotros.

Satanás no necesita hacer ningún trabajo contra el cristiano deslizado para no estar en comunión con el Creador y Redentor del universo, porque lo hacemos todo por nuestra cuenta por no ser cristianos intencionales. Al no estar constantemente “activado” en el espíritu, por no permanecer caliente y tomar el tiempo para pasar nuestra vida en el “microondas” de Dios; en su Palabra, en la oración, en una relación íntima. Él mantiene el café caliente, lo cual es bueno. Cuanto más usted pase tiempo al aire libre de la fuente de calor, usted se convertirá rápidamente tibió e incluso puede estar en peligro de convertirse helado completamente.

¿Está tibio? Ten cuidado. ¿Es usted un cristiano? Permanezca caliente en Cristo. Acuérdese lo que la Escritura dice en Colosenses 3:1-3 y 17

Últimas noticias de misión
En otras noticias, a partir de hoy, tenemos el 45% de nuestro apoyo financiero. ¡Alabado sea Dios! ¿Quieres saber por qué? Algunas cosas fueron cambiado y reducido en el precio para nuestro viaje de misión y hizo que el costo bajara un poco.

Todavía tenemos que recaudar el 65% ninguna cantidad es demasiado pequeña. Si usted puede dar un par de centavos que eso es bueno, si se puede dar más, eso es genial!

Si se acuerda, hay un enlace en la barra de menú de nuestra página titulada “apoyo financiero”, una vez allí baje un poco hacia bajó, encontrará una barra de búsqueda, haga clic allí y escriba “Paredes”. Pulse “enter” y siga las instrucciones para dar con seguridad.

Haga clic en esta palabra enlace para ir al lugar donde puede dar.

Gracias y que Dios los bendiga.

Leave a Reply

